My Dinky Note

Aditya Arie Nugraha's weblog

Problem (Bug) in Magento Installation

with 22 comments

Just now, I tried to deploy Magento, an e-commerce CMS, version 1.0.19870.1. Although it’s just for fun, I really want to try this CMS, because in a review (I forget where I read the review) Magento regarded better than osCommerce. However, in the installation process, I met this kind of error.

Url “http://localhost/magento/” is not accessible

Error parsing body – doesn’t seem to be a chunked message

Where “http://localhost/magento” was my Base URL.

Fortunately, it can be solved easily. I just had to add‘”index.php/’” in <path>\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Install\Model\Installer\Config.php line 139 so that the original syntax:

$client = new Varien_Http_Client($url.$prefix);

will be like this:

$client = new Varien_Http_Client($url.‘index.php/’.$prefix);

It will solve the problem.

(I think the developer just forget to add that part of syntax.. :p)

Written by arie

May 29, 2008 at 2:32 am

Posted in Hobbies & Interests

Tagged with , ,

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it ‘s my base url “http://localhost/magento/”

    i have the following problem,

    My frontend Does not connect properly,

    “Not Found

    The requested URL /magento/customer/account/ was not found on this server.
    Apache/2.2.8 (Ubuntu) PHP/5.2.4-2ubuntu5.1 with Suhosin-Patch Server at localhost Port 80″

    baburam

    May 30, 2008 at 8:00 pm

  2. I’m curious how you detected this bug? debugging?

    JM

    May 31, 2008 at 8:45 am

  3. YOU SIR.. THANK YOU!!! PLEASE NOTIFY THE COMPANY OF THIS!!!!! THIS IS CRAZY

    WOOOTTTTT

    June 3, 2008 at 8:29 am

  4. hey thats pretty good! managed to fixed the error! Thanks!

    Kiat

    June 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

  5. It did not work for me.

    Anonymous

    June 4, 2008 at 8:12 am

  6. @JM
    actually, at first, I just tried to add ‘index.php’ after the default BASE URL (‘http://localhost/magento’).. when you’re in installation process, the URL will be like ‘http://localhost/magento/index.php/install/…’, so I thinked I should add ‘index.php’.. and fortunately, it worked..

    after that, I used Google coz I was not sure it would solve the problem permanently.. I used the error message plus ‘index.php’ as the keywords .. then, I found a discussion about this error in a forum (I forget what forum, but I think it’s Magento Official Forum)..

    arie

    June 4, 2008 at 10:48 pm

  7. @baburam
    make sure that when you install the Magento, “Use Web Server (Apache) Rewrites” option on Configuration page uncheck..
    another way is go to your Admin Panel, then go to System>Configuration.. Under General section, go to Web>Search Engines Optimization, for the “Use Web Server Rewrites” option choose NO..

    arie

    June 4, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  8. Thanks very much, this solved my problem.
    I was installing Magento on Apache 1.3 and it was the first time I have come across this issue. I’ve previously installed it on Apache 2.2.8 (without problem), so I wonder if it has something to do with the way the webserver is configured?

    Mike

    June 5, 2008 at 9:47 am

  9. Well that got me past the

    Url “http://localhost/magento/” is not accessible

    Error parsing body – doesn’t seem to be a chunked message

    error message and am now confronted with this one.

    Notice: Use of undefined constant �index – assumed ‘�index’ in C:\xampp\htdocs\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Install\Model\Installer\Config.php on line 139

    Any ideas?

    Jeff

    June 5, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  10. it’s probably a quote problem around ‘index.php/’, due to the blog formatting engine.

    try this one, or replace the simple quote with double quote “.

    $client = new Varien_Http_Client($url.’index.php/’.$prefix);

    julienV

    June 5, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  11. @Jeff
    just try to type the syntax manually..
    I think you got that error message because you just copied from the web..
    the point is make sure the use of single quotation mark (index.php/) corrects..

    arie

    June 5, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  12. Hi Arie,

    I am facing same problem as Jeff, and I tried to type the line again and made sure the quotes are right.

    I still see this error

    o Url “http://localhost/magento/” is not accessible
    o Error parsing body – doesn’t seem to be a chunked message

    Not sure if it can help, but I am using WAMP to install this.

    Thanks,
    Sawan

    sawan

    June 6, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  13. @sawan
    hi, sawan..
    if you got that error message again, I think the problem wasn’t about the quotes..
    hmm.. I think the first thing to do is make sure that you edit the correct ‘Config.php’ file.. (check the path: \magento\app\code\core\Mage\Install\Model\Installer\Config.php)..

    arie

    June 6, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  14. Yes, I am editing this file

    C:\wamp\www\magento\app\code\core\Mage\Install\Model\Installer\Config.php

    Thank for your help!

    I am getting very excited to try this…

    sawan

    June 7, 2008 at 12:47 am

  15. hi Arie, thanks!
    this is a great fix!
    I owe you a beer for this.
    bye!

    alfonso

    June 10, 2008 at 2:44 am

  16. thanks this solve my problem….

    onadzen

    July 25, 2008 at 11:31 am

  17. I need help! I accidently uninstalled through magento connect frontend and admin core files. Now my website has no admin and frontend functionallity. I have no php knowledge but think the core-config data table values are one issue. ANyone know what to do with this error message:

    Magento Commerce
    There has been an error processing your request.

    Error in file: “/home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/sql/core_setup/mysql4-install-0.8.0.php” – SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1103 Incorrect table name ‘http://www.sandooky.com/shop/admincore_resource’
    Trace:
    #0 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(286): Mage::exception(‘Mage_Core’, ‘Error in file: …’)
    #1 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(166): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->_modifyResourceDb(‘install’, ”, ‘0.8.11’)
    #2 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(154): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->_installResourceDb(‘0.8.11’)
    #3 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Resource/Setup.php(120): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup->applyUpdates()
    #4 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Config.php(215): Mage_Core_Model_Resource_Setup::applyAllUpdates()
    #5 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/App.php(236): Mage_Core_Model_Config->init(Array)
    #6 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/Mage.php(424): Mage_Core_Model_App->init(”, ‘store’, Array)
    #7 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/app/Mage.php(443): Mage::app(”, ‘store’, Array)
    #8 /home/sandycom/public_html/shop/index.php(52): Mage::run()
    #9 {main}

    Magento is a trademark of Irubin Consulting Inc. DBA Varien. Copyright © 2008 Irubin Consulting Inc.

    My website is http://www.sandooky.com

    sandooky

    February 25, 2009 at 2:36 pm

  18. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

    Michael Tim

    March 1, 2009 at 12:03 am

  19. EOS Web has extensive expertise in magento commerce websites.
    They have many modules for FREE in your web site http://www.eoswebdevelopment.com/magentocommerce/en/
    Take a few minutes and look at this page.

    Enjoy !

    Susan

    June 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  20. funny video ) sgx stock prices

    Gerard Cichocki

    June 29, 2011 at 12:14 pm

  21. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    Hang Hotovec

    July 18, 2011 at 1:12 am

  22. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this site needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

    web design business

    September 12, 2015 at 12:21 pm


Leave a Reply

